top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMairead Malesco

My Capstone Project First Look

Updated: Jan 14, 2021

Hey Guys!


I'm been in the process of creating my Capstone project for school, and I want to give you all a first look at it. I don't have a name for it yet (Though I'm open to suggestions), but I will present you with the basic concept:

PREMISE:


It's a fantasy adventure that follows around Pip, an imaginative, yet young field mouse who serves as an apprentice to the stern and more-experienced solider rat, Scratch. When a viscous snake begins to dwell upon their village, the two must venture out into forbidden lands to slay the beast and discover what it really means to be a hero.


INSPIRATION:


I have always have a love for animal stories, especially ones that feature mice, rats, and small rodents. It's a very common trope that you would seem these creatures as the protagonists; Why so? Speaking from a metaphorical perspective, mice and rats are interesting because despite what many would say about their size and appearance, they are capable of many things.


The fantasy-adventure aspect came from my love of media such as The Secret of NIMH, The Legend of Zelda series, Disney's Amphibia, Redwall, The Lord of The Rings, Guardians of Ga'Hoole, The Hobbit, The Chronicles of Narnia, Watership Down, and The Wind in The Willows.


DESIGNS:

Here are the designs of the two leads, Pip and Scratch.


SOFTWARE:

I plan to use Adobe Photoshop for visual development/storyboarding and I will animate scenes in OpenToonz 2D animation software.


The project is currently in the storyboarding phase. I'll be back soon with more updates!


- Mairead

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2023 by Mairead Malesco.

Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page